• Bench – MADE

    Bench - MADE Spring 2017June 24th, 2017
    33 days to go.
  • creative clay cafe

  • Social

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Heating Up with Summer Art

My kiln and torch have been heating up this summer, just like the midwest weather. This week will be in the 90’s! I had an outdoor show in Lincoln this past Saturday. I had an umbrella up over my table which didn’t cover me the whole time. My neck and shoulders are a little pink and tender as they had a little too much sun. It’s not all that bad, though.

Back to the torching and kiln firing… Yesterday, I torched my first pairs of what will end up post earrings. I just love the dangle ones so much, I hadn’t thought about enameled post pairs. As soon as they are assembled and carded, I will post a photo.

I have another new project with my clay that I am so excited to offer to my customers. I am making oil dipping dishes with a raised area in the center for grating a bit of fresh garlic. I went to a local oil & vinegar shop and purchased some olive oil and balsamic vinegar. The quality is so very good. I picked up a 3-pack of oils for a friend who will be getting married later this month. I will send her a set of 4 dipping plates and the oil gift set. I also purchased a bottle of oil to use at my summer farmers markets that I will be attending as a vendor. Customers can see how the dishes work and sample some of the great oil (and garlic) during the show.
***PHOTOS LATER THIS WEEK!***
Happy Monday!!

Leave a Reply

